French Immersion

Nemo Laura S
Port Perry HS
472 131650
06:21AM 3/11/17
Hi, Do students who have completed grade 12 French Immersion struggle with French Immersion courses at University of Ottawa? My reading writing, and speaking are intermediate, definitely not fluent. I love French, but I don't want to be lost in a class. Thank you, Laura
Uottawa University of Ottawa
07:48AM 3/20/17
Hello Laura, Thank you for reaching out to the University of Ottawa. I am a student from the GTA who was in the French Immersion program from grade 1-12 before making the decision to continue in the FI program into university. Similarly, I was not strong with my French reading, oral or written communication, but chose to come to uOttawa because of the incredible support systems that are in place for FI students here. As a French Immersion student at uOttawa, you must take a minimum of 2 out of 5 of your courses in French each semester to be eligible for the French Studies Bursary ($1,000 each year). In addition, there are select first year French courses that have an accompanying French as a Second Language (FLS) course that can be taken simultaneously. To put these FLS courses into context, a FLS professor will sit in your French course (ex. first year psychology) with you and listen to the content being taught. Then once a week you will meet with this professor in a separate classroom with other French Immersion students to go over the material taught in that psychology French class (advanced French terms used, concepts or difficult content). Taking an accompanying course is a great way for you to meet other French Immersion students who are in your program. These FLS courses are reserved exclusively for French Immersion students and count as one of your French courses for your semester. A list of French courses that offer these accompanying courses can be found online here: https://immersion.uottawa.ca/en/program-guide/immersion-courses/list-immersion-courses Our Academic Writing He